JETAANC Leadership

JETAANC is a member (Chapter US-13) of the JET Alumni Association of the United States of America (JETAA USA), as well as a registered nonprofit organization in the state of California. We also partner frequently with the Consulate General of Japan in San Francisco to help promote the JET Program and support outbound and recently returned JET alumni in our region. To learn more about JETAANC’s activities, join the chapter as a JET alumni or Friend of JET and receive email updates.

JETAANC’s organizational leadership includes the Executive Committee and the Board of Directors.

Executive Committee

The JETAANC Executive Committee (EC) consists of the current officers handling the day-to-day operations of the chapter, reporting to the chapter’s Board of Directors (see below) to draft the chapter’s annual budget, plan and host events, and communicate with JET alumni in our region and throughout the country. The EC members run most chapter meetings and events, and work closely with the Consulate General of Japan in San Francisco to support the mission and recruitment of the JET Program. EC members consist of JET alumni living in our region, from recent returnees to those who have been back for 10 or more years.

Recent returnees and those who have been back from JET for a few (or many!) years are welcome to join the Executive Committee and help plan chapter events, support partnerships with external organizations, organize social activities to bring JET alumni and friends together, or build skills that may help in a current or future job search!

2019_JETAANC EC_Melissa Golden.jpg
Melissa Golden


Hokkaido, 2007-2012

Akiyo Horiguchi


Toyama, 2011-2014

2019_JETAANC EC_Anna Fung.jpg
Anna Fung


Iwate, 2011-2014

Board of Directors

As a California Public Benefit Corporation / 501(c)(3) non-profit organization for nearly 30 years, JETAANC relies on our Board of Directors to guide the chapter’s mission and oversee the Executive Committee members. The Board of Directors consists of distinguished JET alumni and members of the community who have contributed to the success of our chapter throughout its history—in some cases, from before we were even officially formed! The Board of Directors also organizes the JETAANC Scholarship project each year.

2019_JETAANC Board_Jennifer Hale.jpeg
Jennifer Hale


Osaka, 1994-1996

2019_JETAANC Board_Ryan Moore.jpg
Ryan Moore

Webmaster, Scholarship Chair

Shikoku, 1997-2000

JETAANC_Board_2020_Peter Weber.jpg
Peter Weber

Consular Liaison

Saitama, 2004-2007 

2019_JETAANC Board_Haj Matsukata.jpg
Hajime Matsukata

Member Outreach

Friend of JET

Arisa Takahashi

EC Liaison

Nara, 1991-1994